Virandeep Singh to lead the U19 National team



Kinrara Oval: Sixteen year old Virandeep was appointed as the U19 national skipper to lead the team into the ACC tournament and beyond. The Hon. Secretary, Mohammad Iqbal Ali, of the Malaysian Cricket Association made the announcement in a small ceremony at Kinrara Oval, the Home of Malaysian Cricket on Tuesday.

Deputy Minister of Youth & Sports, Datuk Saravanan Murugan who visited the national centralized training camp at Kinrara Oval to meet the players and to see how the preparations for the critical tournament were progressing also presented the incoming captain with his cap. The Deputy Minister stated during the short ceremony that “we have been working closely with the MCA in the development of the national roadmap for cricket, what we have started today will yield results in the future”

“We are in the first phase of the roadmap, raising the awareness of the sport in the country which will be the first step as most don’t know that cricket is the second most popular sport in the world and more importantly, Malaysia is currently ranked 23rd by the International Cricket Council.”

The newly appointed captain, Virandeep Singh stated that “It was indeed an honour for me to lead the team and I would like to thank the national selectors and the MCA for their faith in my ability. We have a strong team and will be up against some strong competition from the more established cricket playing countries but we have a real chance to do well in this tournament. This is an important tournament and it will affect our ranking, so we must perform as we are playing for the country”

Early this year, Virandeep Singh made history when he was the youngest player to play for the Malaysian national senior team.

The ACC Tournament will start on the 28th of August and will be played till the 3rd of September. The participating countries include Nepal, Afghanistan, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, UAE and hosts Malaysia. The top 3 teams will secure a place in the Asia Cup.

The full team list is as follows: Virandeep Singh (Captain), Syed Aziz Syed Mubarak (Vice Captain), Mohd Hafiz Mohd Khair, Shankar Sathish Chandran, Nik Nazran Nik Anuay, Pavandeep Singh, Ainool Haqiem Md Yatim, Mohd Mahathir Mohd Razali, Ahmad Zubaidi Zulkifle, Muhamad Sohilin Mohd Rusli, Vimallan Palaniandy, Muhamad Haziq Mohd Hashim, Mohd Ammar Rahim, Muhammad Ikhwan Faiz

The Malaysian Indian Sports and Cultural Foundation has promised to focus and promote this particular event. The foundation’s Chairman,Datuk T.Mohan has vowed to take this event into pride as it’s another star on the shoulders of Malaysian Indians sports fraternity.

Coach​- Thushara Prabath Kodikara

Asst Coach – Suresh Navaratnam

Manager – T. Senathiraj

For more information visit


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here