JDT are AFC Cup champions


PETALING JAYA: Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) emerged as AFC Cup 2015 champions after beating FC Istiklol of Tajikistan 1-0 in the final at Pamir Stadium, Tajikistan on Saturday.

Argentinean import playmaker Leandro Velazquez scored the only goal in the 22nd minute of the match.

JDT are the first Malaysian side to win the competition since it began in 2004.

Both Istiklol and JDT had lost their semi-final first-leg ties to two Kuwaiti teams.

Kuwait Sporting Club beat Istiklol 4-0 while Qadsia SC defeated JDT 3-1.

However, FIFA’s suspension of the Kuwait Football Association on Oct 16 meant that the two Kuwaiti club sides were no longer eligible to continue playing in this year’s tournament.

The AFC Cup is JDT’s third title this season after the Charity Shield (Sultan Ahmad Shah Cup) which they picked up after defeating Pahang 2-0 at the Tan Sri Hassan Yunos Stadium, Larkin on Jan 31 and the Super League 2015 trophy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here